Set amongst its own grounds and surrounded by trees and open green spaces, is the stunning Longhirst Hall. Built between 1824-8 for local landowner, William Lawson, it is considered to be one of architect John Dobson’s finest buildings. The impressive mansion, with its extensive grounds, was bought by self-made coal mining magnate James Joicey in 1887 and it remained in Joicey hands until 1936.
The development consisted of a range of thoughtfully detailed designs ranging from one, two and three bedroom apartments, three bedroom townhouses, right up to three, four and five bedroom houses with the grandest being the seven bedroom conversion of the original Grade II listed Hall providing some 10,325 sq ft of living space. There are also four other original historic homes on the development ranging from a five bedroom 6,542 sq ft home to a three bedroom former coach house all designed by John Dobson, the builder of Grey Street. In addition, the conversion includes nine large open plan three bedroom townhouses and 13 one, two and three bedroom apartments together with two additional new build three bedroom homes – a total of some 30 properties.